The Dosa Dilemma


My family has decided that conversation moment has come : the one where they will decide my future. I recall father, his colleagues and neighbors caught me on the way for the eventful meeting. I was placed in the middle of discussion and the round of suggestions begins. Couple of them asked my choice (I felt it was asked for namesake), before I could explain about aspiration, some wanted me to be a doctor (many preferred), few of opinion of me being a dentist and others wanted me to be a scientist. None of the options they genuinely appealed to me.

I was trying to understand, how did they decide about best career fitment for me? I was unable to recognize who is right? Father, Doctors (Colleagues) or Staff (Working in the hospital). It was very hard to say. I felt each one is drawing a conclusion based on their experience and knowledge from work and the challenges they see from others. It’s common in Indian family that, high weight is given to income, prestige, opportunity and security. It’s directly proportional to family status, financial contribution to the family and prospectus for marriage.

With drastic change in career choice over the last one decade, the less appreciated career’s (Fashion, Actor, Chef and others) have become jobs of choice. I was inclined to study commerce rather than science. I succumbed to their discussion and decided to go for science with biology as an option. I couldn’t understand head and tail of Zoology and Botany. I became a day dreamer in class and decided to opt for statistics as a choice over biology. I did it without informing anyone at home. Doors for medicine, dental and sciences fields closed forever. I felt relieved and decided to pursuing a career in management irrespective of studies.

I remember many of friends were confused, as each profession seems so appealing. But which one should one go for? Years ago when we went out to eat, the experience was simple; we had two-three options: Kali Dosa, Masala Dosa and Set Dosa. Today the scenario is different, there are myriad choice of dosa’s: Chilli dosa, Open dosa, Onion dosa, Butter dosa, Roast dosa, Paper dosa, Rava dosa – just to name a few! Wide choice might look great, it is also a source of discomfort and unhappiness. It’s become hard decision at times to select the best one and go unsatisfied. Choice can be “a major source of stress, uncertainty, anxiety – even misery”. (Barry Schwartz)

It will also lead to high expectation, concerns of missed opportunity and regrets and self-blame once decisions are made. The dilemma of dosa is similarly to career choice. With scaling of courses with many specialization, it is undoubtedly one’s traditional options of ‘Kali-Masala-set dosa’ options related to engineering, medicine and law – they appear to next to photography, modeling, designer and technological courses. I am sure, like me many undergo similar situations of ‘dosa dilemma’ So what is the solution?

Stay tuned for next article to find the solution for dosa dilemma! Your inputs and suggestions are welcome! To know more about us visit http://www.loratis.co.in or visit our office.

About Loratis Institute

Loratis Institute www.loratis.co.in
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Dosa Dilemma

  1. mohanraj.g says:

    that s true for most cases….but…major reason for this is not the parents …but the country itself…lack of awareness among students from schooling plays a crusial role…country s shuting its technology and its use to common people…making them unaware..claytronics,biotechnology etc r some greatest science feild tht r still away frm common people..cntry s not giving any encouragement towards such marvels..leading to brain rain..and s equal to self killing…hopping for a day …one day our country stands with pride…remember our world is the greatest kitchen…letz cook our dosa with some real spicy assistance

  2. Veena R says:

    We talk of need for Exposure. More options more the exposure, and confusion. Right exposure, right choice should be cultivated right from the begining in our families.

  3. Anonymous says:

    A person necessarily help to make severely posts I’d state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this actual submit incredible. Excellent activity!

Leave a Reply

